Wk.11 Kathy Yoon (artist)

Kathy Yoon is a 27 year old artist attending Cal State Long Beach. She is majoring in ceramic and has been there for about 3 years already. Yoon creates different figures with clay and with those figures creates different emotions that she felt throughout the year. The material she use is clay for her art work.

Yoon created characters that were made out of clay in her exhibit, these characters had different expressions on their face showing some type of emotions. I asked Yoon what they represented and she replied back saying they were her emotions that she felt throughout the year. There was probably about 15 or more different characters in the gallery. There was this one character that was holding a red heart ballon and she said it was one of her favorited. It takes about 2-3 weeks to create each characters from start to finish. She used only three different colors in her art work which was red, black, and white so it wouldn’t ruin the form of the characters.

I really liked how Yoon created her emotions out of clay. It reminded of me when I was in 11th grade and I would always play my guitar when I was stressed out. I would play different songs and try to learn new ones to calm myself down and just relax. I don’t play my guitar anymore because I don’t have as much time as I use to.

Yoon as a kid would always like drawing and would play with play-doh. She was first introduced to ceramic in  college. She started off as a math major and switched to a ceramic major. Yoon first attended cypress community college but transferred to CSULB.

image image image image image image image image

INSTAGRAM kathycyoon

Leave a Reply

